A Day in Sleat

Tuesday was primarily Bird Cherry day for me. I was hoping to find caterpillars of the bird-cherry ermine moth (Yponomeuta evonymella) and failed, but I did find various things on the Bird Cherry:

When I stopped to inspect my first Bird Cherry of the day, I was delighted to find four fine specimens of Neottia nidus-avis (Bird’s-nest Orchid) – a long way from any previously known site for this locally rare plant.

Neottia nidus-avis (Bird’s-nest Orchid)

I caught three micro-moths, one of which (the smallest and least distinctive) turns out to be new to the vice-county.

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “A Day in Sleat”

  1. Miscellany | Plants of Skye, Raasay & The Small Isles Says:

    […] the year I found one micro-moth (on Skye – see here) that was new to the vice-county: Monochroa tenebrella sometimes called Common Plain […]

Leave a comment