Moth News

At Nigel’s suggestion I went and had a look at young leaves of Leucanthemum vulgare (Oxeye Daisy) and successfully completed my mission by finding the larva of the micro-moth Bucculatrix nigricomella, sometimes given the name Daisy Bent-wing.

This is new to the vice-county. Map from eastscotland-butterflies:

The next day I found this chap flitting about in the conservatory:

Depressaria daucella

Sometimes known as Dingy Flat-body (poor thing), I found larvae last year on Oenanthe crocata (Hemlock Water-dropwort) on the shore just along from the house:

Depressaria daucella larva on Oenothera crocata

However, the adult marks the 200th species of adult moth I have recorded here at West Suisnish.

Tags:

One Response to “Moth News”

  1. Late April – Insects | Plants of Skye, Raasay & The Small Isles Says:

    […] have a variety of larvae that I am trying to rear so that their identification can be confirmed. My Bucculatrix nigricomella is now a pupa, so I wait with bated breath for this rather smart little moth to […]

Leave a comment