Sleat Again

I had a varied day in Sleat, the highlight being the Cephalanthera longifolia (Narrow-leaved Helleborine) near Achnacloich which is flowering well this year.

Cephalanthera longifolia Stonefield 2017 LR

I checked on more Tilia sp. (Lime) and Tellima/Tolmiea uncertainties.  The limes around Armadale/Arvasar all appear to be Tilia platyphyllos (Large-leaved Lime) as Steve pointed out last year, which is what started me on this exercise. In the case of Tellima grandiflora (Fringecups) and Tolmiea menziesii (Pick-a-back-plant) I now have many sites for the former but only two confirmed for the latter (Geary and Allt na Beiste, Sleat).

Most of the other interest concerned non-natives.  It can be difficult to decide what to record in places like Armadale Castle grounds. I failed to re-find Lamium album (White Dead-nettle) from 1987 and Cephalanthera longifolia (Narrow-leaved Helleborine) from 1977, but I was not surprised as I have tried before. However, I added Gaultheria shallon (Shallon) to the list as it is on the roadside cliffs as well as in the grounds proper.

Some way away from the Castle on a forestry track I found a patch of plants obviously derived from the castle grounds: Euphorbia griffithii (Griffith’s Spurge), Rubus tricolor (Chinese Bramble), a Bamboo I am struggling with, and daffodils. Along the track for 200m there was a mass of Gunnera tinctoria (Giant-rhubarb) – at least 200 plants. The Rubus tricolor is not far from where Steve found it eighteen months ago but it is definitely a second site. The Euphorbia griffithii was not previously known as an escape in VC104.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The bamboo is about 3 m tall. There is plenty of it near the road at the front of the Clandonald Centre and I have e-mailed them to see if anyone knows which bamboo it is.  I am also consulting a bamboo expert  – and I have two others for him to consider if I can get samples together.

Bamboo Armadale 5

Otherwise, I was pleased to find my annual specimen of Rhagium bifasciatum (Two-banded longhorn beetle).  I have been finding one per year each May at home. This year it was in Armadale Castle grounds

 

Tags: ,

One Response to “Sleat Again”

  1. Pollination of Sword-leaved Helleborines | Plants of Skye, Raasay & The Small Isles Says:

    […] it is the season for flowers on Cephalanthera longifolia (Narrow- or Sword-leaved Helleborine) and it is a wet afternoon, I decided to see what was known […]

Leave a Reply

