A Short Time in Sleat

On the way home from family on Sunday I had couple of hours to spare in Sleat. I have been having misgivings about earlier Tellima and Tolmiea records (mine, mostly) and so was reassured to find both species:

Tellima & Tolmiea Sleat

Tellima grandiflora (Fringecups) Photo S. Terry   &   Tolmiea menziesii (Pick-a-back Plant)

There was Tilia platyphyllos (Large-leaved Lime) planted in Kilmore Parish Churchyard and it had also established itself on the shore below as an old but short windswept shrub:

Lime on shore

Several limes have tufts of hairs in the vein axils on the under side of the leaves, but Tilia platyphyllos also has hairs at least along the veins as well.

Tilia platyphyllos leaves

I need to check various records for Tilia x europaea around Skye (mine and others’) as I suspect that some, if not all of them, are in fact Tilia platyphyllos.

Finally, I am not sure what this is in a garden throw-out area on the shore at Camus Croise:

I shall have to go back unless someone can enlighten me. Later: I think this is just young, vigorous Lapsana communis (Nipplewort), which is what I thought to begin with but then had a wobble…..

Tags:

Leave a Reply

