Applecross

I have just spent three days across the water in the Applecross area, helping my colleague with records for Atlas 2020. I made 1347 records of 296 taxa – and I have a rose to send off for expert determination.

I also collected fungi for Bruce Ing’s Ross-shire fungus survey – two of the 10km squares I was in are very poorly recorded for fungi.  Mostly I collected infected leaves but there were also some toadstools e.g. (Thanks to Bruce for determinations):

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

and reasonable numbers of butterflies, moths and other insects:

Emerald Damselfly

Emerald Damselfly

One of the things I was particularly hoping to re-find was Cladium mariscus (Great Fen-sedge) near Cuaig.  There was a fair amount – this being a section of the smaller population:

Cladium Cuaig 2

Cladium mariscus

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

