Ellishadder

On my way to Inver Tote today I diverted to Ellishadder to have a look at Morag’s Euphorbia. With it there was a mint, probably of garden origin, and rather like Mentha spicata (Spear Mint) but I will have to wait for flowers to decide whether it is this or a hybrid.

Also, there was this shrub which I am struggling with:

Ellishader shrub1

Ellishader shrub2

Perhaps someone can enlighten me?  If it flowers later in the year things should become easier.  Clearly someone dumped their garden rubbish here.

Later: The consensus is that it is an Escallonia; confirmation and perhaps greater specificity awaits flowering.

Tags:

One Response to “Ellishadder”

  1. Ellishader Escallonia | Plants of Skye, Raasay & The Small Isles Says:

    […] month I was puzzled by a shrub at Ellishader and the consensus after folks looked at my images was that it was probably an Escallonia.  Today […]

Leave a Reply

