Eigg Part 2

The main purpose of my visit to Eigg was to undertake Site Condition Monitoring of the Cleadale SSSI and I am grateful to David Long and the British Bryological Society for letting me share their accommodation on Eigg for a couple of nights while they got on with their Summer Meeting. I am happy to report generally good results from Cleadale, especially three new sites for the Nationally Rare Arenaria norvegica subsp. norvegica (Arctic Sandwort). These were all within a tetrad with existing records so its Nationally Rare status is not under threat!

Arenaria norvegica subsp. norvegica

Arenaria norvegica subsp. norvegica

When I last surveyed this population in June 2008, the plants were almost all fruiting with a few flowers still evident. This year, almost a month later, it was about 50:50 flowering/fruiting.  The Orobanche alba (Thyme Broomrape) was also behind with most specimens just 2-3 cm tall, which probably accounts for a slightly lower count this year – I simply will have missed some, especially those a little distance away across a void in the cliffs.

Orobanche alba

Orobanche alba

Elsewhere on Eigg I made a first record in the vice-county for Raphanus raphanistrum subsp. maritimus (Sea Radish) since 1801 – and in the same location!

Raphanus raphanistrum subsp. maritimus

Raphanus raphanistrum subsp. maritimus

Polystichum setiferum (Soft Shield-fern) was a first for Eigg and only the third site in VC104.

Polystichum setiferum

Polystichum setiferum     Note stalked pinnules

and Ranunculus sceleratus (Celery-leaved Buttercup) was also a first for Eigg.

I haven’t even started to enter my records into the database as I have been on my annual pilgrimage to Loch Lonachan, but hopefully I shall get to it in the next couple of days and if anything further pops out that is significant I shall report it here.

Tags:

One Response to “Eigg Part 2”

  1. Radishes | Plants of Skye, Raasay & The Small Isles Says:

    […] may remember that I was very pleased to find this on Eigg in July where I said “I made a first record in the vice-county for Raphanus raphanistrum subsp. […]

Leave a Reply

