Updates

I sent a specimen of the Agrimonia from Scorrybreac that Dorothy found to Mike Wilcox.  He compared it with A. eupatoria which grows in his area and says it is not that but rather A. procera.  This is how I have always recorded it from this area but some earlier records were made of A. eupatoria here. I now need to check the few sites where I have recorded A. eupatoria on Skye as I think it likely that I was in error.

I showed James Merryweather a specimen of the fern from Loch Sneosdal and he suggests that it a Dryopteris hybrid, perhaps a buckler fern crossed with a male fern. I shall send it away for further assessment but in the absence of sori I suspect I shall not get a definitive answer.

I have updated the Raasay Flora to take account of the new records from NG63. As always, if you spot errors, etc. I would be grateful to be told.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

