Storr Lochs and Flodigarry

Today I had a recce at Storr Lochs ready for tomorrow’s planned SWT walk, which I have now cancelled as the forecast is very poor. This is a pity as I found various Potamogeton spp. as well as other standard marsh and water plants.  More interestingly I think I spotted two under-recorded hybrids: a horsetail, Equisetum x rothmaleri (E. arvense x palustre) and a deergrass, Trichophorum cespitosum nothosubsp. foersteri (T. cespitosum x germanicum). I shall send both away for expert opinion.

It was not a day for much plant photography as the wind was whipping things about. However, I did spot this, which I think may be an early instar of Emperor Moth, though I am happy to be corrected:

Emperor?

Emperor?

I headed north to a coastal tetrad with no records north of Flodigarry. This had a rich burn and impressive sea cliffs, though these were less interesting botanically than one might have hoped. Highlights included Asplenium marinum (Sea Spleenwort), Equisetum telmateia (Great Horsetail), Ligusticum scoticum (Scots Lovage) and an area of planted woodland with at least 17 species of tree and shrub.

IMG_3777aIMG_3778a

The adjacent tetrad to the west is also somewhat limited in terms of previous records so I improved it a bit and re-found Lemna minor (Common Duckweed) and Glyceria declinata (Small Sweet-grass) but not Veronica beccabunga (Brooklime).

A sea of Comarum palustre (Marsh Cinquefoil):

Comarum palustre

Comarum palustre

Tags: ,

One Response to “Storr Lochs and Flodigarry”

  1. Vapourer | Plants of Skye, Raasay & The Small Isles Says:

    […] He also confirms my Emperor larva from near Loch Leathan. […]

Leave a Reply

