South of Edinbane & the Wind Farm

Looking at my distribution maps, I noticed a group of three complete (i.e. no sea) tetrads with no records just south and south-east of Edinbane. So after a stop at Lyndale I parked in Edinbane and headed south along the Abhainn Choishleadar. There are quite a few Euclapytus trees along this burn which I think are E. pulchella (White Peppermint-gum) but deserve another check when I am next passing just in case they are E. niphophila (Snow Gum).

Pressing on into the target tetrads, I managed a reasonably thorough look at NG34P plus brief excursions into the southwest of NG34U and the northwest of NG34T. I have yet to enter the records into my database but the species numbers clearly reflect the time spent in the various areas.  Most of the plants were what you would expect, though not dull, ranging from Populus tremula (Aspen) on the rocky side of burns to Carex limosa (Bog-sedge) in liquid bogs.  A number of sedges are now in flower such as Carex dioica, C. nigra, C. sylvatica and C. limosa:

Carex limosa in flower

Carex limosa in flower

A long stretch of the wind farm track has Spergularia rubra (Sand Spurrey), a typical place to find it. At the base of wind turbine #1 there was a single plant that I couldn’t identify. There was a second at the base of wind turbine #2 and seven near wind turbine #3. All bar one are in the imported gravel and I suspect that is their provenance.

Unknown - Pic 1

Unknown – Pic 1

Unknown - Pic 2

Unknown – Pic 2

The very distinctive leaves look vaguely familiar – though not, I think, from Skye botanising.  There were dead stalks from last year about 25cm tall, so if I can’t work out what it is from the leaves I shall probably go back and find flowers later in the year.  All help gratefully received. I have failed to get there from John Poland’s Vegetative Key.

Other sightings included a Common Heath moth (Thanks, Brian):

Common Heath

Common Heath

A lichen that I took to be a pure fungus (Thanks, Dave):

Lichenomphalia umbellifera

Lichenomphalia umbellifera

Red Deer

Hind

Hind

and what I am fairly sure is a red deer skull:

Skull

Skull

The burns were full after the previous night’s rain and it was as well to have been wearing wellies:IMG_3183a

 

Tags: , ,

One Response to “South of Edinbane & the Wind Farm”

  1. Ro Scott Says:

    Those leaves look like Achillea ptarmica. (Or were they much smaller than that?)

Leave a Reply

