A Quick Trip to Kilt Rock

Before Murdo’s excellent talk to the Skye Members’ centre of SWT entitled “Unknown Unknowns – Insect Recording in Northern Scotland”, which was marred only by poor attendance, I made a quick trip to the Kilt Rock area. I had thought of circumnavigating Loch Mealt in search of an old record for Typha latifolia (Bulrush). However, when I got there I realised that I didn’t have time for that so I checked the eastern shore and had a total of about an hour in the area. This resulted in 121 records of which four turned out to be new to the 10 km square, somewhat to my surprise: Pinus contorta (Lodgepole Pine), Rumex longifolius (Northern Dock), Salix repens var. argentea (the silvery form of Creeping Willow) and Sparganium erectum (Branched Bur-reed).

Tags:

Leave a Reply

