Grasses

Nick gave me some grass from his garden at Earlish which I immediately thought was Vulpia myuros (Rat’s-tail Fescue) and further assessment confirms this, though since it may have come from birdseed I am reserving the right to change my mind to something even more exotic.

Vulpia myuros

Vulpia myuros

I identified this for NTS a couple of years ago as it had appeared in their meadow at Kirkton after they had used a wild flower seed mix from Scotia Seeds. The only previous VC104 record is an anonymous 1949 from NM48 (Eigg or Muck).

Meanwhile, John gave me the biggest Bromus hordaceus (Soft-brome) I have ever seen at 1.07m tall. Inflorescence:

Bromus hordaceus

Bromus hordaceus

Tags:

Leave a Reply

