New Mimulus

When I was at Borve looking for harebells I noticed a coppery Mimulus that looked to me like Mimulus x burnetii (M. cupreus x guttatus) (Coppery Monkeyflower). Alan Silverside has kindly confirmed it for me from these images:

Mimulus x burnetii (1)

Mimulus x burnetii (1)

Mimulus x burnetii (2)

Mimulus x burnetii (2)

This is the first time this has been recorded in VC104 – though I recall seeing something similar by the road right up the north end of Trotternish many years ago.

Tags:

2 Responses to “New Mimulus”

  1. Tony Butcher Says:

    I would like to contact Alan Silverside about a hybrid mimulus at Cronkley bridge. Can you ask him to contact me please?

Leave a Reply

