Glenmore to Crossal

On Sunday I became a grandfather again, with very limited effort on my part.  In fact I was in the middle of Skye walking from Glenmore to Crossal through three tetrads with zero records.  Amusingly, while I was away I was sent a chart for the whole of Scotland  illustrating tetrad numbers by colour codes – the darker the more records.  The three tetrads I was walking through are shown as a white vertical strip:zero tetrads

A look at the map had suggested that Lon na Steill near Glenmore was likely to be the most interesting and so it proved. I contemplated this water bubbling out of the ground as a drinking fountain but with sheep around I decided against it:IMG_1782aThe gorge of the burn had Saxifraga hypnoides (Mossy Saxifrage) which is new to the 10 km square and a red moss that Nick Hodgetts went to see later and says is Bryum pallens:

Bryum weigelii (?)

Bryum pallens

Up above, Stroc-bheinn was uninteresting but had good views:

Stroc-bheinn

Stroc-bheinn

Most of the rest of the journey was through fairly dull with lots of burned moor and other Molinia-dominated areas.  However, I found a new site for Equisetum pratense (Shady Horsetail) – a plant new to the 10 km square, Neottia cordata (Lesser Twayblade) and quite a lot of Vaccinium vitis-idaea (Cowberry).

Loch Dearg was not looking particularly red (dearg) but made a good view with snow on the Cuillin Hills behind:

Loch Dearg

Loch Dearg

and I am wondering what inhabits this hole:

IMG_1787aThe small yellow item by the hole is my GPS device.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

