Varragill

The township of Varragill was depopulated by 1877 but some of the houses are still in reasonable condition:

Varragill

Varragill

Today I had a few hours to spare on Skye and Varragill is not far from the road to Portree so I headed for that area. I had to cross the River Varragill which it turned out today was slightly deeper than the height of my wellies.  Still, a good part of me believes that I have not had a proper day out unless I get wet feet.  I found a reasonable selection of plants for 1st May away from the coast and was pleased to spot a Dipper.

Waterfall at Eas na Coille

Waterfall at Eas na Coille

Tags:

Leave a Reply

