Another Beautiful Day

With wall -to-wall sunshine yet again I couldn’t resist another wander around my home area. Given that I spent part of 25 years recording plants on Raasay it is surprising that on 1st  April I can still add eight 1 km square records in a couple of hours within a mile or two of home. Nothing that special: aliens including conifers at which I have got rather better over the years, and a few common species that just happened to have been missing.

The locally rare (i.e. on Raasay) Potentllia sterilis (Barren Strawberry) is in flower:

Potentilla sterilis

Potentilla sterilis

as is this willow (probably Salix cinerea):

Willow

Willow

I have been looking at more Scots Pines for the pine gall but lots of our trees are very tall with no lower branches so it may not be easy. Anyway I haven’t found any. More tomorrow on weather, I hope.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

