The Forest Again

I should have said that part of  the motivation for today’s expedition was that I have constructed lists for Raasay by 10 km square of things not seen since before 2000. So today I re-found Ribes nigrum (Black Currant) and Pseudotsuga menziesii (Douglas Fir). Many of these have not been seen for a very long time but there are quite a few that have slipped past as I have concentrated on Skye, including some more I can do out of season…

Here is a picture of Japanese Larch (on left) and Dunkeld Larch (on right) cones:

Larch cones

Larch cones

Maybe I should go and get some European Larch cones as well and show all three………..

Tags:

Leave a Reply

