Beetle Trap

As well as 25 moths,  I caught three of these burying beetles in my moth trap a couple of nights ago, which Richard tells me are Nicrophorus investigator, which I have found before here at home.

Nicrophorus investigator

One of them had what I take to be parasites, and Richard thinks are mites on its underside. Sorry about poor image:

Underside

Tags:

2 Responses to “Beetle Trap”

  1. Carol Anderson Says:

    I just had one of these drop out of a lamp in my living room. A most unpleasant experience. It too seems to have parasites on its top..whitish globules. I have a quite a good photo if you’d like me to send it to you.

  2. Stephen Says:

    By all means send the photo though I am not sure that I will be able to find someone who can identify the parasites. Best, Stephen

Leave a Reply

