Return to The Quarry

Another look at the quarry near Dunvegan added several more species including Arabidopsis thaliana (Thale Cress), Carex laevigata (Smooth-stalked Sedge), Fallopia japonica (Japanese Knotweed), Rubus spectabilis (Salmonberry), a Fuchsia that is not F. magellanica:

Fuchsia

and a variegated shrub:

Something variegatum

Is anyone out there an expert at Gunnera? I do not find the descriptions in Stace’s Flora sufficient to distinguish G. tinctoria from G. manicata though the petioles seem key:

Gunnera petiole

I had a better look at the shrub that I had wondered if it was a Lavatera (now Malva) and have gone off that idea.  The shoots are attached to the stump of what was once a large shrub or small tree with a dozen trunks of diameter up to 10cm.

Multi-trunks

Here is another picture of a shoot:

Shoot

and a single leaf:

Leaf

Is this ringing any bells with anybody?

I am happy that the Iris is just I. pseudacorus (Yellow Iris/Flag). Oh yes, and I found a what I thought was a saxifrage but now I am not so sure:

Saxifrage?

I dare say that there are still things to find, so I may yet be back again.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

