Raasay Firs

Freshly informed about conifers I went to check that the trees described as Abies procera (Noble Fir) since the 1930s are indeed that species.  They are.  However, nearby I also found Abies alba (European Silver-fir) as I suspected I might.  Slightly embarrassingly, many years ago I was given details of trees planted by the Forestry Commission on Raasay and the species list  included Abies alba. Since Abies procera was not on the list, I concluded that A. alba was an error for A. procera.

Abies alba has not been formally recorded on Raasay before and will need to be added to my flora.  It is known on Rum but not recorded there since 1959.  The only Skye record is down to Mary McCallum Webster in 1987 but is not localised to better than the 10 km square.  I feel sure that if I start to look for it in plantations I shall find it on Skye.

Leave a Reply

