Sleat

On Thursday I visited Sleat. My first stop was to the only extant site on Skye for Carex hirta (Hairy Sedge).  It was looking fine. I found a second site with  a few plants a few years ago but it seems to have gone – perhaps washed into the sea.

After that I went to see the Vicia orobus (Wood Bitter-vetch) reported by Pat & Roger Cottis (see post of 5 July) so that I could complete a form for the Threatened Plants Project.  Like them I only found one plant but is has become very hard to spot in a tall sward now that it has finished flowering.

Continuing along the coast  to the west I was pleased to find Sagina nodosa (Knotted Pearlwort) and two plants of Centaurium erythraea (Common Centaury), both species flowering well.  I didn’t think to take any photos but here is one of an unusual shingle plant from the same area:

Aspen on the beach

Aspen on the beach

Other nice finds included Anagallis tenella (Bog Pimpernel), Carex otrubae (False Fox-sedge), Ligusticum scoticum (Scots Lovage), Stellaria graminea (Lesser Stitchwort) and Tanacetum vulgare (Tansy).

Leave a Reply

