Slaters

A couple of days ago at the harbour on Raasay I turned over a dinghy to empty it of rainwater and found lots of sea slaters (Ligia oceanica).  Since there is current interest in their distribution in the Highlands, I must submit this record.  While I am at it I shall include the common shiny woodlice (Oniscus asellus) in my garden.

There is a very amateur-friendly key to woodlice at the NHM website with questions like “Can it roll up into a ball?”

I realise this is a bit off-subject but mostly I will twitter on about plants.

Leave a Reply

