Snowdrops

Today I visited the three sites for snowdrops that I was told about last week.  All are now in fruit but well naturalised, two in cemeteries and one in the grounds of a big house.

As I was at or near sea-level all the time, I saw quite a few more species in flower. As always at this time of year any botanising leaves you saying “I must go back later”.  In this case, I want to see what is growing in the good-looking wetlands at Talisker Bay and check which species of comfrey has naturalised for hundreds of metres along a bank by a burn.

The first ants of the year for the Highland Ant Atlas project!   Also a fine view of a peregrine.

Leave a Reply

